+ ADD YOUR SITE (1 members)


Click Member link to see site in tvwandecommunity star + ADD YOUR SITE (1 members)

Canada: Its provinces and its territories


Canada has as many as ten provinces in all. All these provinces and territories combine to make Canada the world’s second largest country after Russia. Different provinces and territories of Canada come under the different jurisdictions and hence receive power, authority and governance directly from the constitution act. Territories derive their authority and power from the federal government itself.


The ten provinces of Canada are:

  • Alberta
  • British Columbia
  • Manitoba
  • New Brunswick
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Nova Scotia
  • Ontario
  • Prince Edward Island
  • Quebec
  • Saskatchewan


Canada has currently three territories and those three territories are as follows:

  • Northwest Territories
  • Nunavut
  • Yukon

Unlike the Canadian provinces, territories have hereditary jurisdiction and enjoy only those powers that are delegated to them by the federal government. The territories include the entire mainland of Canada’s north of latitude 60 degree north and west of Hudson Bay and also the essential islands of James Bay and Canadian Arctic Islands. The provinces of Ontario, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia are considered to be the original provinces formed by United Kingdom’s British North American colonies in 1867. And in the following years, rest of the provinces joined in around 1870s to 1900. Following the World War II, the majority of Newfoundland citizens voted to become a part of the Confederation making it the tenth province of Canada.  Provinces of Quebec, Nunavut and Yukon are the most sparsely populated regions of Canada, with almost 100,000 people spread in its huge regions.


The Canada provinces have a great deal of power authorized by federal government with administration over public goods like health care, education, transportation and welfare. Taxes and transfer payment facilities are directly received from the federal government. Most provinces have Legislative Councils or Legislative Assemblies except in Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and Labrador where it is called the House of Assembly. Political parties like New Democratic Party have provincial and federal wings.

Thus, the provinces and territories of Canada are varied and each one of it has unique features.

EsotericLady, unravel the mysteries
new site with a page of poetry and a page of quotes but more is comming cuz i have a lot to say