Home  >>  Write  >>  Religion and Spirituality  >>  Religions of the World  >>  Buddhism  >>  Tibetan



Tibetan Buddhism emerged after Buddhism and yoga were brought to Tibet from India in the eighth century.

Tibetan Buddhists believe in taming the mind through meditation and putting an end to both personal suffering and the suffering of all other beings. This is because Tibetan Buddhists believe that people owe all other beings a karmic debt, which must be repaid in order to achieve enlightenment.

Meditation is used to develop a pureness of thought and this purity and clarity of the mind is thought to awaken and increase a person’s compassion for other beings.

Tibetan Buddhism is a form of Mahayana Buddhism and it actually blends together elements of Tantrism, Buddhism and the Bon religion of Tibet.

Teachers of Tibetan Buddhism are called Lamas. The most well known Tibetan Buddhist the Dalai Lama. He is considered the spiritual leader of Tibetan Buddhism and a reincarnation of the Bodhisattva of Compassion Avalokitesvara.

There are four principle schools of Tibetan Buddhism.

The Four Schools of Tibetan Buddhism:

-         The Nyingma School (the ancient school)

-         The Sakya School

-         The Kagya School (the oral tradition school)

-         The Gelug School (the tradition of virtue school)

The current Dalai Lama Tenzin Gyatso belongs to the Gelug school of Tibetan Buddhism.